Click to expand/collapse all notes Click to expand/collapse all other details Hide this popup frame

Rowan County, North Carolina Display Google Map of this location (if available)

  • Place Notes
      Rowan County was formed in 1753 when Anson County was divided on an
      east-west line. The eastern borders were about mid-state, and there were
      no western borders. Anson was to the south and Rowan was to the north. In
      the following years, Rowan was carved up. In 1770, Surry Co. was formed
      out of a northern section of Rowan. In 1776, the District of Washington
      was formed from the western frontier, giving Rowan Co. a western
      border. In 1777, Burke and Wilkes Co. were formed out of the western
      sections of Rowan, eating up more than half of the territory that had been
      Rowan. Rowan's borders remained in place until 1788, when Iredell was
      formed out of its western portion. In 1822, the eastern part of Rowan,
      about half its area, was taken to form Davidson Co. In 1836, the northern
      section of Rowan, again about half the area, was taken to form Davie
      Co. In 1846, some of eastern Iredell, which had been left untouched until
      that time, was combined with western Cabarrus Co. to form Alexander
      Co. And the boundaries of Iredell, Davie, Davidson, and Rowan have
      remained pretty much stable since then.